the damn salon

WTH? 14 Year old Girl Shot in the Head for Promoting Education.

In Uncategorized on October 10, 2012 at 11:04 pm

Good Evening Gorgeous Naturals.  Today’s What The Hell Wednesday post will be a serious departure from it’s usual hilarity.

Let me begin by asking a question.  When was the last time you thanked God for being born in America?  Yes, that was a serious question.  Those of you who know me, are probably wondering what I bumped my head on.  I know, I ‘m usually the loudest anti-AmeriKKKan, anti-establishment, anti-assimilation, pro-reparations, pro-black voice in the room.   That description of me is still quite accurate, but today I came across a news story that made me pause.

The story I’m referencing is that of Malala Yousafzai, a 14-year-old girl in Pakistan who was shot in the head on Tuesday while riding the bus home from school.  Apparently, a masked gunman boarded her bus, asked for her by name and then shot her in the head and neck. Today, she is fighting for her life.  Malala was targeted by the Pakistani Taliban because for the past three years she has spoken out for the rights of girls in her Taliban controlled area, the Swat Valley,  to become educated.  Currently girls in the region are banned from attending public schools.  In 2009, at the age of 11, Malala was introduce to the world via a blog she wrote for the BBC, detailing her life under the Tehrik-i-Taliban regime .  She has since been nominated for several awards, and has won Pakistan’s first National Peace Prize.

Please note that after the despicable shooting, a Taliban spokesman said that his organization considers Malala’s crusade for education rights an “obscenity” and accused her of “propagating” Western culture. If she survives, the group promises to try kill her again.

So again I ask, when was the last time you thanked The Almighty for the blessing of being born in America?  As I read this story, I began to think about all the things we take for granted.  Not only is education free to all  in the US, but higher education is encouraged and even subsidized in many cases.  Women in America have the freedom to vote, work, own property,  and even (gasp) wear lace-fronts.  YOU or I could have been born ANYWHERE else on the planet, at ANY OTHER era in time.  But we are HERE.  NOW.  God is good.

I won’t turn this into a sermon.  But I would like to encourage you to share this story with the youth in your life.  Explain to them the beautiful blessing called opportunity.  Say what you want about AmeriKKKa and it’s ugly (and recent) racist, sexist history.   I will again be the loudest voice in the Amen Corner.  That said, I will also say that I don’t believe in coincidence.  We are all placed on this earth at an appointed time, to fulfill an appointed purpose.  Find your purpose, and live it,  in spite of your adversity. At the tender age of 14, Malala did.  Let’s pray it doesn’t cost her her life.

All the Best my Goregeous Naturals!

DavaDivine.

 

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.
Watch us on YouTube.
Subscribe to the Damn Blog.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

